Technology and Literacy Award
The ILA Technology and Literacy Award is designed to honor educators in grades K–12 or equivalent that are making an outstanding and innovative contribution to the use of technology in reading education.

Entries are judged by members of the ILA Zolt Award/Grants and ILA Technology and Literacy Committee.


  • Candidates must be an ILA member
  • Candidates must be educators who work directly with student’s grades K-12 for all or part of the working day
  • Educators who work in public, parochial, or private elementary or secondary schools in the United States, Canada, or other countries (includes U.S. Territories and APO schools) are eligible
  • The program being described must be complete as of the date of the application. No programs planned for future implementation will be accepted
  • Entries incorporating any brand of computers, operating systems, software applications, and other technologies such as TV or video are acceptable

Submission deadline is January 15, 2017.

Nominee Information

Current Teaching Position

School Information

School District (or equivalent) Information

Program Information

The application must include the following items:

  • The program description of the ways you have used technology to improve the reading and literacy abilities of students in your school. Your program description must be double-spaced and may not exceed three pages.
  • The program description must include the following: a broad overview of the program and its goals; student population; technologies used; learning activities performed by your students; and results achieved.
  • No videos, CD-ROMs, other media, photographs, or other materials of any kind may be submitted.

To upload your files please click on 'browse' to locate your document in your files than click on 'upload' to attach to form.

If you are unable to upload, please send them via mail (regular or express) to International Literacy Association,  ILA Technology and Literacy Award, 800 Barksdale Road, Newark DE 19711.


Additional Information

Do you give the International Literacy Association the right to use your application, name, picture, voice, and/or likeness for editorial or promotional purposes, and to publish summary information about the winning projects on their websites, publications and/or brochures?
Has the nominee/applicant been nominated for or applied for another ILA award this year?


Use this checklist to be sure you have completed and submitted all sections of your application correctly before clicking on 'Submit'.