Maryann Manning Special Service Award

The International Literacy Association (ILA) Maryann Manning Special Service Award is a nonmonetary award given annually to an individual who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment of exceptional and distinguished service to the field of literacy. ILA members apply or are nominated by peers for this award.

Candidate criteria:

  • Must be an ILA member
  • Admirable service to the field of literacy in some specific capacity or capacities requiring special skills, knowledge, and creative effort
  • Achievement of results that demonstrate support for the field of literacy
  • Exceptionally generous and tireless giving of time and talents as a committee member, local/state/provincial council, or national affiliate officer
To become an ILA member or renew your membership go to

Submission deadline is January 15, 2018

Nominee Information

Nominator Information


The application must include the following items: 

  • Description of and rationale for Nominee’s unusual and distinguished service to the field of literacy
  • Educational background and career summary
  • Minimum of three (3) letters of support citing exceptionally generous and timeless giving of time and talent at the local, state, provincial, and/or affiliate level

To upload your files please select Browse to locate your document in your files then select Upload to attach to the form.

If you are unable to upload, please e-mail your documents to

Additional Information

The nominee gives permission for the committee to contact people who have provided documentation should additional information be required.
Would you like this person to be considered for the ILA Special Service Award next year, if they do not receive the award this year?
Has the nominee/applicant been nominated for or applied for another ILA award this year?


Use this checklist to be sure you have completed and submitted all sections of your application correctly before clicking on 'Submit'.