IRA Special Service Award

The IRA Special Service Award is given for unusual and distinguished service to the International Reading Association. 

Deadline for submission is November 15, 2014. (Extended to January 15, 2015)

Criteria for the Special Service Award 

  1. Admirable service to the International Reading Association in some specific capacity or capacities, requiring special skills, knowledge, and creative effort.
  2. Achievement of results that demonstrate support for the International Reading Association.
  3. Exceptionally generous and tireless giving of time and talents as committee member, local/state/provincial council or national affiliate officer, sponsor of conferences, etc.

Nominee Information

Nominator Information

The application must include the following items:  

  1. Description of and rationale for Nominee’s unusual and distinguished service to the Association.
  2. Educational background and career summary.
  3. Minimum of three (3) letters of support citing exceptionally generous and timeless giving of time and talent at the local, state, provincial, and/or affiliate level.

To upload your files please click on 'browse' to locate your document in your files than click on 'upload' to attach to form.

If you are unable to upload, please send them via:

Mail (regular or express)
International Reading Association
IRA Special Service Award
800 Barksdale Road
Newark DE 19711






Additional Information

* The nominee gives permission for the committee to contact people who have provided documentation should additional information be required.
* Would you like this person to be considered for the IRA Special Service Award next year, if they do no receive the award this year?
* Has the nominee/applicant been nominated for or applied for another IRA award this year?


Use this checklist to be sure you have completed and submitted all sections of your application correctly before clicking on 'Submit'.
* Indicates Response Required